Thoughts

9 Jan

This blog is a journal of sorts for me. I love the art of writing and looking back at where I was in life at different times. I had mentioned in a past post how Eric and I had wanted to try and get pregnant when we came home from deployment only to later find out that our Tricare coverage was ending sooner than we thought. These past few months I have been struggling with the fact that I so badly want to start a family. Family and friends are having babies they didn’t plan and it made me jealous. After being hired on permanently at work I find myself, finally, where I should be. Eric has done such a great job of saving while he is deployed and we know I can carry our insurance when Eric gets out of the Army but we are living in a city we don’t want to stay in. We couldn’t possibly risk the chance of getting pregnant and bringing a baby into this world with so many uncertainties in our future. Not only that, but if we do move like we so badly want to we would have to wait even longer so I can build up time at a job I don’t even know if I could find.

Eric has handled my very loud frustrations about our situation with both grace and understanding. While I was home over the holidays Eric brought up the idea of extending his contract. At first I was adamantly against the idea but he explained that it would only be for a few months. I was still hesitant, I know how ready he is to be done with this chapter in life but we quickly came to realize that perhaps a few months longer in the Army wouldn’t hurt. We would have free health care for a little longer, he would have guaranteed employment for a little longer, and most importantly, it opens up the opportunity for us to try and get pregnant.

If we do not get pregnant by June we again have to put family planning on the back burner but I am so excited and so is Eric. It’s finally our turn.

6 Responses to “Thoughts”

  1. AMargaretV January 9, 2013 at 11:32 pm #

    My husband and I are in a similar situation. He wants to wait to start a family till after he gets out of the military, but then we have to move to WI and start new jobs, finish college, buy a house, get financially established, etc. It puts off the baby making when you are responsible about it and try to plan :/ But I just keep reminding myself that it will be amazing when it finally happens because we have been waiting for so long 🙂

    • happyhereblog January 10, 2013 at 8:02 am #

      Being patient has never been a strong attribute of mine so I fully understand the frustration. Eric and I said we will never go back to Wisconsin, I do not miss the cold! 😉

  2. Chantal M. Shelstad January 10, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

    Good luck! I hope everything works out for you!

  3. Kayla January 13, 2013 at 12:22 am #

    So exciting! We’ve been waiting to get the timing right with baby #2 and it doesn’t get any easier after that first one!! Good luck, can’t wait to see your family grow!

    • happyhereblog January 13, 2013 at 3:04 pm #

      Haha we want four kids so that’s part of the reason I’m so anxious to get started, I don’t want to be an old mom 😉

Leave a Reply

