Six Months

17 Dec

Taking a quick break from the pre-holiday chaos to write up a post. This week marks six months since Eric deployed. Part of me can’t believe it’s already been that long and the other part feels like it’s been forever and a day.

I was telling Eric this past weekend that he is coming home to a wife who is completely different from than when he left. When he left I was unemployed and I now have a full-time career with amazing benefits and my own office bigger than my childhood bedroom. When he left I drove a ’98 Taurus just like I have since I was 17 but when he gets home I will hopefully be in a shiny very new-ish vehicle. When he left I was sitting comfortably but healthy in the jeans in my closet, I now need to buy new ones because I’ve hit my ultimate goal weight and the pairs I own are falling off me.

These things are good – amazing in fact, and I am incredibly proud! But I wanted to make these changes with Eric. Not having to tell him about them over the phone or through the computer screen.

One thing I didn’t want to happen this deployment was change. Nine months is a long time for someone to stay the exact way they are so I knew he would be different but I didn’t think about how I would be different.

I often say “I never thought I would be an Army wife”, “I never thought I would live in Georgia”, and “I never thought I would be married to someone who was halfway around the world for nine months”. I need to realize that I am an Army wife, I do live in Georgia, and we have already completed 6 of 9ish months apart.

I can’t wait for him to be home.

20121217-210721.jpg

From the countdown app on my phone

2 Responses to “Six Months”

  1. Paige January 8, 2013 at 8:43 pm #

    My fiance is currently deployed and I have seen so many people using this app but I cant seem to find it. What app is this?

    • happyhereblog January 8, 2013 at 8:46 pm #

      It’s called “doing time”. I have it on my iPhone, I’m not sure if android has their own version. You can also google “donut of misery” for an excel file that has a pie chart with a little more detail for on your computer. Hoping for a safe and speedy return!

Leave a Reply

