Dreaming

9 Dec

43206477645108995_BegJAh7G_c

I’ve always been a dreamer. Picturing what high school would be like when I finally made it there, imagining what my future husband was doing at that exact moment, wondering what big city I would start my career in, and longing for the moment when I finally get to kiss my husband after this deployment is over.

All that dreaming makes it hard to be here, be present, and in the moment. I was just offered my first adult job, finally. Almost four years after I graduated college, I never thought it would take this long. I never thought it would be in finance either. Yet here I sit, wondering where we will be in a year…dreaming that we will be some place new.

Dreams have their purpose; they give us direction, something to aim for in life and keep us on our intended paths in order to reach our goals. Am I still on my path? I’m really not sure.

I do know one thing though, I don’t want to dream away a single moment when Eric is home. I am going to try my hardest to live in the moment and not worry about anything else. At the end of the day it’s him and it always will be, in any dream I have.

4 Responses to “Dreaming”

  1. Chantal M. Shelstad December 9, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    Sometimes it’s hard to live in the moment!

  2. Michelle @ Run Eat Travel December 9, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    One thing that I regret during my husbands year long deployment is that I had a countdown the entire time. Between R&R and when he came home for good, we were apart 290+ days. It was absolutely brutal and the countdown made it worse. I kept wishing time away instead of living in the moment.

    • happyhereblog December 9, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

      I’m doing the same. Thankfully time is flying by but I know Im going to want it to go slowly once he is home and hopefully being as present as possible will help.

  3. brightlivelihoods January 4, 2013 at 12:07 am #

    Dreamers Change the World-Embrace your dream and make 2013 that you take your dreams seriously: http://lnkd.in/kTF3Gq

Leave a Reply

