Craft Time

8 Dec

I have recently discovered that I love the “rustic chic” look. Most of our apartment came from Ikea, don’t get me wrong-I love Ikea, but I didn’t feel like we had a lot of character going on in here. I think the obsession began with this beautiful table from “Our Vinage Home Love“.

025

Gorgeous

I’ve pinned a few DIY project that I’d like to do to slowly add to our new look. One of them was using a shutter as a picture/card holder to replace a fabric covered board I put up. I went through all of my pictures but I can’t find one of the board up on the wall, oops.

Here in Georgia we have this awesome place called Front Porch of the South. It’s a vendor market and contains all these little booths with anything and everything. I would compare it to an indoor flea market mixed with a craft fair mixed with a junk yard. You have to search through a lot of weird things, like an old dentist chair..creepy, but there are a lot of great things mixed in just waiting to be repurposed or up cycled.

I wanted to use one big shutter but with a friends help I found a pile of these single, smaller shutters.

photo 1

I’m terrible at remembering before pictures soI had already started painting. 

I picked up two of them for $6 each and stopped into Home Depot for a can of white paint and command hook poster strips to hang them up.

photo 2

I didn’t want it to look perfect so I wasn’t worried about smooth paint lines.

I used a flat white paint mixed with primer and two paint brushes. To start with I used a little brush I had laying around to get in between the small slats and along the inside edges. I then finished with a bigger brush that we had used to paint the walls with.

It took about an hour to paint both of them and I only did the front and sides. I was worried about using the poster strips, the shutters are very light, but I didn’t want the rod that opens and closes shutter to be in front so the shutter would be sticking away from the wall a bit. So far, so good. It’s been a few weeks and they have not fallen down.

photo 3

Yikes, ignore the mess on my counters and in my sink. 

photo 4

photo 5

It’s a little dark in our kitchen and these are pictures from my iphone.
If anyone wants to send me a nice camera I wouldn’t object 🙂

I’m really happy with how the project turned out and it was really simple. I haven’t gotten any Christmas cards in the mail yet but as soon as I do I’m going to switch out what’s currently in there.

Have you done a craft project lately? I would love to see it!

3 Responses to “Craft Time”

  1. patinaandcompany December 8, 2012 at 10:18 am #

    Wow, that’s really sweet. And useful.

    • happyhereblog December 8, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

      Thank you! I love that I can change up the display for each holiday.

Leave a Reply

