Friday Fun

14 Sep

Maybe my title should actually say Friday “Unfun”. It’s 9 am and I am sitting at my desk with absolutely nothing to do. If you follow me on twitter you would know that this is not a new thing.

I’m currently working in the financial industry via a temp position. Did I ever think I would be a temp worker? Not in a million years. But I am a strong believer that you have to make the best of a situation and after over half a year of no job prospects I bit the bullet. It did not start out well in that my first assignment ended up having the world’s douchey-ist boss but I did get put in a position right away. As in a full time job less than 5 days after submitting my information to the temp agency. Fast forward through the crap I delt with there and once again I was super fortunate in that I was almost immediately placed into another full time, very well paying, position.

Do not think I am ungrateful for being employed in this economy, I know how many would be more than happy to be working here. But, and this is a big but, I don’t want to work in finance. I will not be leaving this position until they end my contract but I think I need to start job searching again. I feel stuck. I graduated college over three years ago yet I feel like I have nothing to show for it. I shouldn’t still need to be looking for entry level jobs. Every year that goes by a whole lot of new grads enter the work force. I should already have three years of experience on them. Another factor to consider in all of this? We are hopefully moving out of Georgia in a little over a year. That’s still too far out to look for a position in the city we hope to end up in.

Maybe this is my quarter life crisis?

Leave a Reply

