Sweat It Out

29 Aug

I have seriously lost my workout mojo and I need to get my butt moving. It all started when Eric left. Well, that’s not quite true, let me back up a bit. It all started when we left for block leave. I had been hitting the gym hard for a good month and a half while I was unemployed. I usually went 5 or 6 days a week and on a few Saturdays I would be there for two hours taking a body pump type class and then a spin class. Workout endorphins are amazing and I vowed to keep it up during the deployment.

Eric really lucked out on his pre-deployment block leave, we went home to Wisconsin for a week and then hung out here in GA together for a week. That wasn’t all though, groups slowly started deploying but Eric was one of the last groups to leave meaning he hardly had to work. That equaled about a month of vacation for him and a month away from the gym for me.

Eric left for the desert and I started a job that following Monday which meant again the gym fell to the back burner. One morning I decided to weigh myself because thanks to my job I was no longer eating all day long (what can I say? I love food!) Holy moly, I had lost weight and was super close to being under 140 lbs. That gave me the kick in the pants I needed and I ate super healthy and started going to the gym a few nights a week and walking the dog the others. I hit 138 lbs on my birthday and it felt so good! I in no way believe what the scale says determines how healthy you are but the numbers kept dropping and it was a great motivator for me.

Fast forward to today. I haven’t been back to the gym and my birthday was almost two months ago, yikes! I’ve still been walking the dog pretty regularly (and started a 10k training program) but I know I need to be doing more. I swore I would get myself moving yesterday but it didn’t happen.

Today I finally got a walk in. It should have been more but I was exhausted after a long day at work, not to mention that I haven’t had a “real time” conversation with Eric since Sunday. I was feeling more and more upset about this damn deployment tonight and instead of sitting here I knew I would feel better if I got a small workout in. And guess what, I feel better! Sometimes I think the best motivator is actually just getting up and getting moving.

This all brings me to here – starting on Monday I am going to do a weekly fitness “Motivational Monday” post. My little corner of the blog only has a few followers but if anyone shows interest I might make it a link up, sort of a way to hop around and show support for others looking to get or stay healthy.

3 Responses to “Sweat It Out”

  1. jamie August 29, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    I am glad your workout made you feel a little less bummed about the deployment. Hope you are able to get a couple more in this week! Thank you for joining our hop!

  2. Jane @ Taingamala August 29, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

    Love the blog! So glad you linked up! Just this past month I’ve been a lot more serious about working out and it does make you feel a million times better. I never thought I would say this, but I like to workout. Life definitely gets in the way sometimes though and it can be a challenge to work it into your schedule. I hope the rest of the deployment flies by! Thanks again for linking up!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. September « The Happy Here Blog - September 1, 2012

    […] Labor Day weekend, this is the last chance for me to swim outside. Stay tuned for my post on Monday about […]

Leave a Reply

