A Pretty Pantry

9 Aug

abfolbutton

An update for those visiting from the Home Organization Challenge – this was done a few weeks ago when I had an ant problem and it still looks the same today so I figured I’d just link up to what I had already written. 

My little ant fiasco from last week gave me a wonderful chance to make over our pantry. I’m a half-glass full kind of girl most of the time and figured a small make over was the perfect way to make that terrible infestation a little better.

I didn’t take a before picture because, well, I hadn’t planed on this project until after it was already cleaned out. Here are the bare bones of what we have to work with for a pantry in our apartment.

The vary bare pantry with the shelving removed

Originally I had just planned on just adding a few containers to my pantry because I was so grossed out by all of the ants crawling all over the food. Everything was sealed but it still grossed me out that they could climb into the pasta and cereal boxes if they wanted to. The clear containers on the top two shelves are from the Better Homes and Gardens line at Walmart. Clear containers are an expensive investment and I searched high and low for the cheapest, but still good looking, containers I could find. These were a great deal and made of good quality plastic. I can really tell they are sealed when I shut them because of the locking mechanism and that was important to me.

The first round of my pantry re-do without the wrapping paper

I was in love but it still wasn’t “pretty”. In the many pins that I had found when doing my research for organizing my pantry I loved the ones that had either a color or pattern to them, usually on the back wall. Because we are in an apartment I knew I couldn’t wallpaper and I didn’t really feel like painting. So what’s a girl to do? Cheap wrapping paper! I originally noticed the wrapping paper at Target that matched our color scheme in the house but had no crafts to use it for, this was perfect! I wasn’t sure if it was going to work and it isn’t perfect but here’s how it went.

I started by emptying everything out and removing the shelving. I know it looks like I don’t have a lot of food, I threw a lot out because of the ants and Eric is deployed so it’s just me and animals.

The mess during the project, those white baskets are from Target

I had to measure and cut down the wrapping paper so I rolled it out carefully on my kitchen table and cut it with craft knife using a cutting mat to ensure I got a straight line.

Cutting the wrapping paper to size

After the wrapping paper was cut I had to get it up on the wall. I just used masking tape, shameful I know, but such is life. At first I tried to do it as a single piece but eventually cut it into pieces so I could get it to lay straight and so I could poke through for the shelving brackets easier.

Before I cut the wrapping paper to help it lay straight

After getting it as straight as I could I put the shelving back up and all of food and containers back in their place. I was in love! Isn’t it pretty?

The finished product!

Going in my pantry makes me so happy now! I wish I could have taken a better picture but my washer and dryer are in there as well so there isn’t enough room to back up and get a bigger picture. Have you used wrapping paper for something other than gift wrapping?

5 Responses to “A Pretty Pantry”

  1. Chantal August 9, 2012 at 9:38 pm #

    Great job! It looks nice.

  2. Lizzy September 15, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

    I love the wrapping paper addition!

  3. myapplesofgoldblog September 16, 2012 at 12:17 am #

    I love the wrapping paper idea! So innovative.

  4. casteb September 16, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    The wrapping paper was a very nice addition — looks great!

  5. Comeca September 17, 2012 at 2:23 am #

    Its the cutest love your apron!!!

Leave a Reply

