Murphy Moment(s)

29 Jul

I had plans this weekend. Shoot, I had plans all week. Workout every day, get to bed early so I wouldn’t be so tired, get together with friends.

Then came Thursday morning. I got up like a normal day and hopped in the shower. I either wear contacts or glasses everyday but I never put my contacts in before I shower. After about 10 minutes I noticed an ant. And then another one. And then another one. OMG, I was showering with ants. Yuck! Thank goodness I didn’t realize them right away so I was basically done with my shower.

I quickly searched the rest of the house starting with our closet. Wait, what? Unfortunately this ant deal isn’t my first and we had a little invasion in our closet last summer. I’m not sure what they were looking for in the closet last summer but after not finding anymore in the house that morning I knew they were after water. I quickly sprayed down the shower with cleaner and rinsed it out before I left for work.

That night I wanted to get to bed early, I had been staying up way too late so I got home and checked the shower…no ants! I made myself dinner and sat down to get a few things done. About nine o’clock I went to put something back in our pantry and….ants. Fuuucckk. I was so mad and they were crawling all over everything. I almost lost it, I sat down and quickly emailed Eric from my phone. He has been really busy over in the desert the last couple of weeks so we have only talked about 10 minutes a day. I was overwhelmed, over stupid little ants nonetheless, and I just wanted my husband home. Damn you deployment.

I put on my big girl panties and vacuumed and cleaned till a little after 10. Because we have a cat and dog I was trying to stay away from spraying with Raid but I had to use it. Our pantry is in our laundry room so I was able to shut the door and I figured I better go ahead and spray our bathroom too just to be safe. Thankfully with Eric gone there isn’t a whole lot of food in the house but I still threw out things the ants could have made their way into. And just to be clear, I’m a bit of a neat freak and there was no open food in our pantry.

Since the pantry had to be completely emptied out I figured it would be a great time to reorganize it. I headed to Pinterest during my lunch and found these drool-worthy pantries.

Image

Image

Image

;

I had big plans on Friday to hit up TJMaxx, Ross, and Marshalls (yes we have all three here, within 2 minutes of each other..it’s amazing!). Those clear containers are expensive and I’m trying hard to save so I wanted to see if I could find anything there.

What did I come home to that night, though? Ants in our sunroom. Ugh, they were in the cat’s food dish. I should have known better than to leave it out but he didn’t eat before I left for work and I forgot to put it away. So again I spent my night vacuuming up ants, cleaning, and spraying with Raid.

I finally made it to the stores on Saturday but after a couple of hours searching all the discount stores I finally gave up and went to Walmart. Those dang containers are expensive little things but I’m so so happy with the outcome.

;

Image

I’ve since moved the three things off the dog food container at the bottom and I really want to do something to “pretty it up”. I’m thinking about putting patterned paper behind the shelves to bring in some color but that will be saved for another day.

Damn you Murphy and stupid little ants. But at least my pantry is super organized now.

Monday morning update: more ants. Just shoot me.

2 Responses to “Murphy Moment(s)”

  1. Jamie July 31, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    Found you from the hop! Finding you on twitter!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Pretty Pantry « The Happy Here Blog - August 9, 2012

    […] little ant fiasco from last week gave me a wonderful chance to make over our pantry. I’m a half-glass full kind […]

Leave a Reply

