Deployment Goals

21 Jul

I’m a huge fan of goal-setting and visual reminders so before Eric left for the desert I made a list of things I want to accomplish before he returns. I will probably do a recap of these about once a month and since we are over a month in I figured now would be a great time to start!

Goal #1: Get a job by mid-July

Status: Accomplished! I interviewed for a job the day after Eric left, found out I got the job the following day, and then started two days later.

Goal #2: Volunteer (no set date)

Status: I originally had planned on becoming a Big Sister as I had interned at a local office in college but since decided to volunteer at a rescue farm for horses. I emailed the farm a few weeks ago but have not gotten around to calling them and setting up a time to start. I really want to get started but I’m still in the “routine-finding” stage of the deployment and new job. Hopefully by the end of August I will have at least volunteered there once.

Goal #3: Finish my two nutrition courses by the end of February

Status: Well..failing miserably. I have not touched my books since before Eric left, oops. I am taking them one at a time and have until October 15th to finish my current course and March 15th to finish my second. With Eric coming home sometime in the spring the last thing I want to be worried about before he gets home is trying to finish my class so I need to get started on this ASAP.

Goal #4: Get and stay healthy and fit

Status: I’m a pretty healthy person and for a few months before Eric left I was unemployed and really good about getting to the gym at least 5 days a week. I’ve eaten quite healthy since he’s left (minus multiple nights of cereal for dinner, but it was multigrain cherrios!) and on my 25th birthday I weighed in at 139lbs, probably my lowest weight since I was about 15. Now please don’t hate me but that’s about 7lbs less than the day he left and I had not worked out once. I think that just goes to show that working out isn’t everything and eating healthy is an integral part to overall health. Don’t get me wrong though, I NEED to get myself to the gym and starting this week I have a schedule written out for what I’m doing on what nights. Being active is extremely important and I can’t wait to get more use out of my new Polar heart rate monitor!

Goal #5: Do what it takes to stay sane and thrive through this deployment

Status: I’ve done pretty good on this one, I usually get out of the house and socialize at least once a week. Some days it’s just a trip to the dog park with a friend but sometimes exactly what I need. A part of me just wants to hide away until Eric gets home but I know that’s not the way to do this. I still spend a lot of time at home doing my own thing with the furbabies but I know that’s sometimes needed as well.

Goal #6: Be financially ready to buy a newer used car by February

Status: Getting a job has definitely helped with this goal. My job is in the financial industry and it has been a huge wake up to get our own personal finances in order. I’ve got a specific dollar amount that I am putting away each month and it should get me in a really good position to buy my pretty white Volkswagen Jetta come February.

6 Responses to “Deployment Goals”

  1. Jessica @ Deployment Divas July 23, 2012 at 1:41 am #

    I love all your goals!! I just kept nodding and saying “yup!” in my head cause pretty much this is my list too! What nutrition classes are you taking?

    • happyhereblog July 23, 2012 at 1:56 am #

      I’m taking all of my courses through AFPA, I’ve completed their ‘Nutrition & Wellness Consultant’ course and am working on their ‘Weight Management Consultant’ and ‘Sports Nutrition Consultant’ courses now. Well, should be working on them at least 😉 It looks like we are at about the same point in the deployment timeline!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. September « The Happy Here Blog - September 1, 2012

    […] Here is an update on my deployment goals! See July’s update here. […]

  2. October Update « The Happy Here Blog - October 1, 2012

    […] and well. Here is an update on my deployment goals for this month – see July’s update here and August’s update […]

  3. November Update « The Happy Here Blog - November 17, 2012

    […] bah humbug! Here is an update on my deployment goals for this month – see July’s update here, August’s update here, and November’s update […]

  4. A BIG December Update « The Happy Here Blog - December 1, 2012

    […] on the 1st. Here is an update on my deployment goals for this month – see July’s update here, August’s update here, September’s update here, October’s update here, and […]

Leave a Reply

