Being Crafty

30 Jan

Two days ago I was getting lost in blogging land as I clicked through links and kept hopping from one new blog to the other. I swear I clicked follow on a blog that had the CUTEST earring holder because I wanted to make it this weekend. I wrote down what I needed and headed to the store, now that my cute project is complete I want to give credit to the blog I saw it posted on but now I can’t find it 😦 But so you all know, I got this idea from someone else.

Now the fun part..

Before
 
After!
 
I love, love, loved this craft the minute I saw it and knew it would be perfect for me. I bought the picture at Goodwill for about $5 and then bought the 1/4″ hardware cloth at Menard’s. Because it only came in a roll of 36″x5 feet it was about $12 
When I got home the first thing I did was remove the baking, picture and glass from the frame. Because it was stapled in I had to use pliers but I eventually got the staples out. After that I measured the frame and decided I needed a 15″x15″ square of hardware cloth. My dad was a huge help with that part because it was so rolled up it took two of us to get it flat enough to cut with tin snips. He did all of the cutting while I just held it down haha. After that I made sure it fit in the frame and got out the hot glue gun. I glued one side at a time to make sure it layed flat and as it was drying I layed a few magazines on it to hold it down. The glue didn’t take long to dry and after all of the sides were glued I went back and put one more coat on it. And that’s it! It took less than 30 minutes to do from getting the frame ready to letting the glue dry. I really want to add something else to the frame, maybe some cute flowers or something, but for now that’s what it will look like when it’s hung up in my bathroom. 
Because I have so much hardware cloth left, and it was so easy!, I’m considering making a few more and seeing if I can sell them on Etsy or something. If you’re interested, or want more directions, let me know!
 

Photobucket

4 Responses to “Being Crafty”

  1. French Lover January 30, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    Hi sweetie ! So I'm visiting from Amanda&Don's saturday around the world ! I see you're getting married in 4 months, so exciting !!! I'm French, and I got married to my Canadian husband in December 2010 🙂 Bisous !

  2. Olivieri Designs January 30, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    Hi! I am also visiting from Amanda and Don's around the world! I am loving your whole blog, I am an art/interior design major so I love all things involved with crafts/art. etc. Can't wait to read more!

  3. Olivieri Designs January 30, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    Omg! Shut up! That is so funny!! Are you still in the soroity? She's one of my best friends from high school! Ah crazy, I'll have to tell her!!

  4. AngieDMac January 31, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    Hi! Following via Military Monday blog hop. I hope the next 4 months fly for you, stress-free!and Go Steelers! (; angie @ http://angiedmac.blogspot.com

Leave a comment