NaNoWriMo

27 Sep

“To pursue the unattainable is insanity.” – Marcus Aurelius

I’ve had another big idea. Well I don’t know if I would call it an idea per say, more of an acceptance of a challenge.  I was reading the paper the other morning when I read a little blurb about the orientation for “Big Write-Kenosha”.  I vaguely remember reading that it involved writing a novel.  Today I was driving to the library to drop off my very overdue books when I remembered reading it and thought I would look into it. I knew the orientation date was sometime this week so I had assumed whatever the event was, was happening in the month of October.

I got home and went onto the library’s website and saw that the challenge is to write a 50,000 word novel, or 175 pages, in 30 days.  As someone who considers them self somewhat of a writer, I thought this sounded like a good idea and a great way to get motivated to write. Then I went to the website to register. The month you have to write the novel in is November, not October.  Eric is going to be home in November, for a lot of it. Hmm.

I’m still going to do it, and I’m really excited for it, even though I am going to have almost no time. I’m going to have to write during every opportunity that I have, and I think that’s going to mean a lot of late nights. That’s okay, but I’m not too sure how thrilled Eric was with it though haha.

Besides the time aspect, I think I’m going to have a hard time with the editing part.  Because there is such a limited time span, the idea is to just write and do the editing in December.  Yikes!  I am a perfectionist to a fault and I can’t move on until I know what I’ve done is perfect. That’s going to be a huge challenge so I know I’m going to need to remind myself that if I start editing, there is no way I’ll get it finished in time.

I have an idea in my head about my story and I am going to start putting the plot on paper tonight.  The contest allows you to do story outlines, character sketches, etc. before November 1st but you can’t actually start writing till then.  So hopefully October will be filled with research and outlining and I won’t lose momentum before November 🙂

For more information visit http://www.nanowrimo.org/

One Response to “NaNoWriMo”

  1. Chantal September 27, 2010 at 5:23 am #

    I did NaNoWriMo last year! And actually just finished editing my novel today and will be querying agents soon enough. I had an issue with just writing, but after a few days of it, I could do it. Just don't think of what you're writing!A great program I used is called Ommwriter. Just Google it and check it out. It helped me concentrate a lot and get so much more done. Let me know if you have any questions about it!

Leave a Reply

