30 Days of Me – Day 19

7 Sep

A Talent of Yours

Well, I’d probably have to go with swimming.  Or writing, not that it really shows through in my posts on here haha.  Here’s a little background on my swimming career. 

I started swim lessons when I was younger with the “feeder team” of our local swim club.  When I was 9 I was invited to try out for the competitive club team.  And by invited, I mean that I passed all three levels and was handed a little piece of paper saying I could try out haha. As you may have guessed, I made the team.  I swam year round from the age of 9 until my senior year of high school.  I made a lot of good friends through swimming and still see quite a few of them, and am facebook friends with a lot of them.  After my senior year high school season I didn’t go back to the club team because I had said I was officially retired.  Well, I got to college and during my freshman year I decided I missed the feel of the water and the smell of chlorine so I contacted the coach about swimming my sophomore year.  After some un-returned emails and phone messages I finally found out the coach had quit and a new coach had been hired.  I finally got in contact with the correct person and joined the UW-Eau Claire swim team my sophomore year and loved it.  But, I also found out that a year out of the water had killed me.  I was so out of shape, swimming slower than I had my sophomore year of high school..yikes!  I never really recovered from that year off, I swam distance and set a goal in high school for my 500 and still didn’t reach it in college.  Oh well, I still had a great time and got to spend two wonderful, but hard, winter breaks in Puerto Rico on our training trips.  And senior year I was voted one of the captains so that was a lot of fun, even though I could only practice with the team 3 days a week because of my class schedule.

Swimming is definitely a love/hate sport but I wouldn’t go back and change a thing.  I still sometimes miss it but after working with a few girls that were still swimming high school and had to leave for practice I am glad I am finished.  One day I might go back and swim with a masters team but for now I’ll just stick to swimming whenever I feel like it, which lately has been never haha.

Here’s a video of our badass cowbell cheer, OH HELL YES EAU CLAIRE! 

Leave a Reply

