30 Days of Me – Day 8

27 Aug

A Photo That Makes You Angry/Sad

I don’t believe I’ve written about this topic yet, but I am a big supporter of gay rights.  I could get into all of the reasons I support the gays but I’ll state just two.  Equal rights and separation of church and state.  I follow a few conservative bloggers and I also believe in the right to your own opinion, so if you disagree with me on this I will not think less you. 

As some of you may know I am currently working as a lifeguard at a county beach on a public lake.  We had a rather large rescue on Monday that involved calling EMS.  The kid drowning was outside of our designated swim area but all of the lifeguards responded appropriately and helped get him out of the water.  The reason I say “helped” get him out of the water is because he chose to go past our buoy line and out into the deeper water.  When he began drowning other swimmers that were close to him tried to help him.  One of the kids that helped him is claiming that the lifeguards did not do their job and has essentially given us a lot of bad press, it even made it on Keith Olbermann.  All of the media outlets have the story incorrect on some level and because of that it made it look like we did not do our job, or with some news stations, do nothing at all.  
My boss came in yesterday and told us that him and the upper level personnel for the county have discovered the kid is just a self promoter and sort of a whack job.  However, I was sadly disappointed when my boss deemed him a “whack job” because of his sexual orientation.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad he helped the drowning kid out but everything he has done since has been beyond frustrating and has extremely pissed me off.  But his actions, not his sexual orientation, are what make this kid a bad person.  I hope one day I can live in world where people are less judgmental and more accepting, even if it is something they don’t agree with.

New Friend Fridays

2 Responses to “30 Days of Me – Day 8”

  1. Syndal August 27, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

    Being a part of the nurses' strike here in MN, I also learned the media is not as truthful as I once (naively) thought! hang in there-and I too was SO excited when Prop 8 was overturned!

  2. Kayla Sue August 28, 2010 at 2:35 am #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, I LOVE finding other bloggers from Wisconsin! 🙂 The last line of this post hit the nail on the head – we should be accepting even if it's something we don't agree with.

Leave a Reply

